The Wind May Bluster and The Rain may Pour…

Tags: , , , .

It’s rainy and miserable and windy in Vancouver, but does that stop us intrepid Vancouverites?

Well no. It just slowed us down a little. And made us consider clothing options a little more carefully.

The original plan was to run some errands and go to the local 2nd hand bookstore. First stop: Urban Yarns. I’d never been there before, but after reading about it on some local blogs I had to go see it for myself.

The place was a zoo. I could see how on less crowded days it’s probably one of the coziest, friendliest stores around. I’m definitely going to go back. But it just so happens they’re having a a sale, so there was some wild and crazy shenanigans going on. I was very impressed with the DS – all that estrogen and enclosed space, and he didn’t even flinch as he walked through the door.

He did have a task though, so perhaps that made it easier – he’s very interested in having me knit him another Irish Hiking Scarf, this time in a lighter weight black wool. So practigal that I am, I asked him to check out the yarns on offer and find one that he’d like. He did. The man has good taste – he fell for the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino.

I didn’t buy any wool (this time) but I oohed and aahed over the Lantern Moon handmade knitting needles. They were a touch too expensive for me at $30 – $40.00 a pair, but I can dream. They’re made of Rosewood and/or Ebony, so I can understand the cost – these are needles that, if cared for properly, will end up having to be willed to someone specific or else all the knitters in the family will fight over them…

I did purchase a collection of Lang Yarns men’s sweater patterns, and bought my very first pair of handcrafted Birch knitting needles from River John Needle Company. I can’t wait to work with these. They’re just so… pretty. My only concern is that nowhere on the needle is the size marked. Looks like it’s time to invest in a needle gauge.

We did get all the other errands done, and I came home with a generous collection of books… but more on that in some other post. Honestly, how much of Cin’s boring life can anyone take in one sitting?

Posted on February 4, 2006, in 2009. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. “Hello, Michele sent me.” Very nice look & feel here. Glad I had an excuse to stop in. I’ll be back to take a look around a little later; for now it’s Work Time.Hope you have a great day, maybe a little less rainy miserable windy? Although what I’ve heard about Vancouver makes me think the RMW might be a fairly common weather pattern. Or is Vancouver like Seattle, where the constant rain is a myth perpetuated by residents trying to maintain their well-kept secret? So says my Seattle-resident brother, anyway.

Leave a Reply

