Mood Swings

The Christmas Blahs have struck again.

This happens to me most every year, but I really did think that this year would be different. I was doing pretty well, going out during my lunch hours, considering possible options, finding “just the thing” for someone on my list, and happily taking it home. I’m lucky – my list is nice and short because most of the people in my life prefer experiences over stuff, and would much rather have a good gab and a meal than receive a gift they’ll never, ever use.

But then, round about Monday, I felt the old weariness overtake me and I couldn’t bring myself to set foot in the mall by my office. I found myself making excuses. The thought of seeing another grim face determined to scratch off another name on ye olde shopping list did not excite me. The non-traditional christmas music in the stores really got to me, and I had the inexplicable desire to snarl at overly-chirpy sales people.

Obviously I was not fit company for humans, and barely fit for wee beasties.

But recognizing you have a problem is the toughest part, and since I’ve managed that I think I can help myself out. I have a plan; tomrrow night I’m going to get the ingredients to try out a new recipe, turn on some of my favourite Christmas music, and make some cookies. Cause really, who can feel blah when they’re surrounded by cookies and icing?

Posted on December 14, 2006, in C'est La Vie, Holidailies 2006, Vancouver. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hope you get over your blah soon. I know how you feel about the overly-chirpy sales associates. Being one I can tell you I hate being like that, for one it’s not me and people just want to get in and out they don’t want to chit-chat. Anyhoo, Michele sent me. Have fun with you new recipes, baking is always fun.

  2. Every year I find myself dragged down by the Christmas blahs. I know that it’s coming, but I still set myself up for it. I find that getting outside helps a lot. I try to go for a walk every day, even if its just around the block. Get some air, look at everyone’s Christmas lights — it really does help.

    Baking helps a lot too, but I find that I always end up eating most of what I’ve baked (someone has to test it out first!) and then I end up with the post-holiday weight-gain blahs.

Leave a Reply

