So Resolved

It was “iron” – it was firm, it was mineral…
No, no, no, that’s stupid.
It was… It was firm, it was adamant, it was resolved.
It was resolved.
~ Thomas Gates, National Treasure

Another year has passed, and I’m setting resolutions. A few years of snubbing this tradition as too old-fashioned made me realize that:

  1. I like having something to refer back to, rather than just relying on my memory;
  2. In my world, words that are written down have more presence and take on more importance than the ones that are not. This explains why my tongue-in-cheek resolution of 2009 (make more soup), actually happened, and;
  3. I lean towards the old-fashioned.

So here I am, a blank page before me. Where to start? I’m not particularly political, but I am fan of eloquence, and the late Jack Layton’s letter to the people has remained in my mind (and heart) much longer than I thought it would, so it’s my starting off point: “My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.”

Resolutions

Talk less, listen more;
Smile, particularly when it’s been a trying day;
Cuddle pets and the people you love. We all need more cuddles.
More reading, less TV;
Bake cookies. Share.
Quality, not quantity;
Accept that we all have a dark side. Without dark, there is no light.
Live intentionally;
Take action;
Write;
Find the delight in life.
Hug, and hug often.
Capture moments;
Love people, even when they think they’re unloveable.
Seek out the things that draw us together.
Practice makes perfect: gratitude, hope and optimism daily.
Make more soup.

Posted on January 1, 2013, in 2013, Ideas + Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

